About WTPA

The West Texas Press Association was organized in 1926 and the first convention was held in Colorado City. Because no conventions were held in 1942, 1943, 1944 and 1945, during World War II, a group of newspaper people, including Marvin Hunter of Baird, Roy M. Craig of Stamford, Jim Allison, Sr., of Midland and Secretary Maud Green of Kermit meet in Baird to re-organize and the 1946 convention was held in Sweetwater. Yearly summer conventions have occurred since that time.

WTPA is considered the “largest regional association in the world” because of its vast geographic area. The Association is composed of weekly, semi-weekly and small daily newspapers in the great West Texas area with Fort Davis, Fort Stockton, Hondo, Gatesville, Perryton, Vernon, Burkburnett, Decatur and Dallas being the fringe area cities.

In 1993, the annual summer convention was held in Ruidoso, N. M., and membership was extended to Eastern New Mexico newspapers. Several are now regular members. In addition to newspaper members, representatives from companies that are in businesses related to the newspaper field hold associate membership. There are many advantages to being a member of a regional press association. The WTPA annual convention in July brings together members and their families for outstanding programs, information and activities. Here, you will meet “the working press” somewhat like yourself. Many of those attending “wear many hats” in their respective operations. The sharing of ideas and problem solving, exchanges with others in the field make the conventions well worth attending.

The WTPA Better Newspaper Contest gives each newspaper a chance to compete with other publications of similar size and frequency of publication. Judges’ comments and critiques are provided to all who enter. This is a valuable tool for improvement as well as validation for a job well done. Plaques are presented for first place and certificates to second, third and honorable mention as a special event at the annual summer convention.

Named for the former publisher of The Hamlin Herald who died in 1981, the Bob Craig Memorial Scholarship is given to two college students. Applications are solicited from high schools and colleges in the membership area. One scholarship is given to a graduating senior and the other to a college junior or senior who is pursuing a career in print media. The WTPA scholarship of $1,000 per year, paid $500 each semester, is matched by Texas Press Association, so that the students receive $1,000 each semester that they are taking courses related to print journalism. Deadline for scholarship applications is June 15 each year.

Interested in becoming a member?

Simply download and fill out this form.

Officers and Directors

Chairman of the Board
Randy Mankin

JL Mankin

First Vice President
Kim Ware

Second Vice President
Bill Crist

Mary Dudley
The Perryton Herald
706 S. W. 10th
Perryton, TX 79070
Phone: 806.435.9770
Work: 806.435.3631
FAX: 806.435.2420
[email protected]

Board of Directors

Kristen Tribe
Todd Chambers
Melissa Perner
Russel Skiles
Henry Flores
Bob Dillard
Brian Brisendine
Rick Craig

Barbara Kelly
WTPA Historian
2502 Ivanhoe Ln
Abilene, TX 79605
Phone: 325.692.1087
FAX: 325.692.1087
[email protected]